Sorry I have not posted on this blog for eternity, but life has been very hectic and I have moved house etc. But I did get an interesting letter from a reader the other day and I wanted to share it and also ask my readers if you have any other advice for her:

Merry Meet! I was just hoping for some advice. I’m very much wiccan and it’s something that speaks to my heart and soul. However, in college I became really interested in Judaism and started attending Shabbat services at the local Reform Temple. It struck something deep inside to the point of tears and very much so was the cliché I have found my home. I had even started converting (I had to stop because my nanny had a stroke and was really bad off so I no longer had the time to dedicate myself to it). I stopped Wicca while converting but felt very incomplete. When I stopped all my Jewish learning and focused on Wicca, I felt incomplete. They are both so an intregal part of who I am. Well, I believe in more than one god but to the extent that there is One Goddess and One God but they are broken down into others simply as a way to tap into that particular essence or characteristic like love and Venus. But like my patron deity is El/Yahweh and my goddess is Shekinah/Asherah. I’ve been searching for a way to combine the two religions and was comfortable at one point with it until a dear friend said I can’t combine them. As someone who wasn’t born Jewish, I am making a mockery of Judaism by combining them. I don’t feel that way…I believe a lot of the Jewish beliefs, however I do believe in the goddess and that magick is not evil or supernatural. So I was just wondering would it indeed be wrong to convert, knowing I’m going to need to mix the two to feel whole? I’m sorry this was such a long email. Thank you! Shalom and Blessed Be!

This was my reply:

Thanks so much for your lovely email! I really appreciate it. I’m always excited to meet other Jewitchy people out there!

Source: walking-on-fire.blogspot.com

I agree with you, I also feel incomplete when I only focus on my Wicca and not my Judaism and vice versa. I don’t see any harm in blending these two unique systems. In fact I believe they compliment each other in many ways – with appreciation of the power and beauty of nature and esoteric aspects of Kabbalah and so on.

Don’t listen to the people who say you cannot combine them! That is only their opinion! You have to do what feels right for you! Of course all Orthodox and religious Jews will not understand your Jewitchery so there is no need to explain it to them. However, if they ever ask you again, just explain that you are a “Kabbalist” – because Kabbalah is actually a form of magick anyway! That should quieten them down for a while anyway.

To be honest, I don’t think it’s necessary for you to go through the whole conversion process as I feel it is very difficult, strict, long and time-consuming. But of course it is up to you! I think you can adopt aspects of Judaism into your life and spirituality without needing to convert!

Good luck with whatever you decide!

Bright Blessings,

The Midnight Jewitch

Also, just a reminder to please email me with other questions that we can discuss on this blog!

