“After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.” {Nelson Mandela}

12009796_725656720889791_9010572653201230295_n

Shana Tova blessings to all the wonderful Jewitches out there, all over the world (and all my other wonderful readers who are curious to learn more about Jewitch spirituality). A sweet new year to you all and wishing you happiness and harmony. Also wishing you all a blessed Spring / Autumn Equinox (depending on which part of the world you reside in).

12047016_731726606949469_198751372039081151_n

I thought it would be fitting to begin anew with this blog in this new Jewish year. My sincere apologies for neglecting this little blog. When time and energy permits, I endeavour to post more regularly (hopefully once a month). Life is chaotic at the moment, I do hope you all can understand.

Please don’t forget to email me with your Jewitchy questions and topics to provide me with future ideas on what to post about! I would love more feedback from you all. I’d also like to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to all my new followers and readers, especially all my fantastic Facebook fans… I hope you know how much I appreciate your enthusiasm and patience.

12011382_731421183646678_6528830176355064185_n

Recently, I was interviewed by an author researching Jewitchery for her upcoming book. She is currently writing a novel that has a Jewitch character in it and wants to understand and learn more about this character. I was honoured to be interviewed and able to assist. Here is a summary of all my answers (as well as the author’s questions) below:

The term Jewitch is quite new, but really there have always been witchy elements in Judaism since the beginning. Naturally, religious Jewish folk don’t like to point them out to people of course. But they are there, and always have been. In fact, rabbis would be more aware of them than the average Jewish community member. Rabbis were allowed to study magick after all, as they were considered teachers / masters in the eyes of the community and thus needed to know and learn everything from start to finish.

  1. My character is proud of being a Jewitch and wants everyone to know it. Is there a particular symbol that identifies someone as a Jewitch? Right now, I have my character wearing a large Star of David. Is that appropriate, or would she be more likely to wear something different?

Yes, there is the Jewitchery symbol that is a combination of a pentagram and a Star of David. I have an idea: Perhaps your character would have a tattoo of this on her body, as she seems to want everyone to know about her Jewitchery? Just a thought. It is difficult to find a piece of Jewellry with this symbol, but there may be some available online and they could possibly be custom made.

logo

  1. I read somewhere that Jewitches cast their circles counter clockwise (as opposed to other pagan practices which traditionally cast clockwise). Is this true? If so, what is the significance to the change in direction?

No, I believe this to be untrue. When casting a circle or raising power you move deosil – with the sun – which in the northern hemisphere means clockwise but in the southern hemisphere means counter-clockwise. When closing a circle or banishing power you move widdershins – against the sun – which means counter-clockwise in the northern hemisphere and clockwise in the southern. I live in the Southern Hemisphere (Australia), so that is why I would cast a circle counter-clockwise and close the circle clockwise. It has no connection to my Jewitchiness.

  1. What deity would she invoke during her rituals? In their rituals, non-Jewitch pagans tend to invoke an all-encompassing “Goddess” or a more specific deity that might help with the specific spellwork at hand. Is it the same for Jewitches? I keep coming across the name “Hashem”. Would it make sense for her to invoke Hashem at the outset of her rituals?

It’s difficult to explain but I believe in only one deity or G-d: however, I believe there are many aspects, including feminine and masculine aspects, to this one deity. So as a Jewitch, I may call upon or utilise these different aspects of G-d in my spells and rituals. Hashem is really just the general Jewish nickname for G-d.

It is forbidden to pronounce the actual four-letter name of G-d (Yud Heh Vav Hey). That name is really a combination of three Hebrew words: Haya, Hoveh and Yeheyeh – past, present, and future. G-d exists in the past, present and future — simultaneously. Examples of some names of Goddesses that may be used in rituals of Jewitches could include: Canaanite Goddesses, the Shekinah, the Shabbat Bride, Asherah, Anath, Astarte, Ashima, etc.

  1. Are there any herbs or types of incense that are particularly important to Jewitches?
  • Mandrake: utilised in love potions since Biblical times.
  • Beets and onions: Fantastic for general healing.
  • Fennel: utilised for driving away evil spirits.
  • Asparagus: beer or broth made from asparagus heals the heart and eyes.
  • Galbanum
  • Frankincence
  • Myrrh
  • Cassia
  • Spikenard
  • Saffron
  • Aromatic rind
  • Cinnamon
  • Costus
  • Onycha
  • And many more…
  1. The action in the book falls over the time of the Summer Solstice. Would my Jewitch character be celebrating this holiday? Do Jewitches in general celebrate the traditional pagan holidays (solstices, equinoxes, etc), traditional Jewish holidays, or maybe both?

Yes, I do celebrate the Wiccan holidays in combination with the Jewish holidays (and both similtaneously if they fall on the same week or so). I live in Australia (Southern Hemisphere) so the Wiccan holidays are on different dates than America (Northern Hemisphere).

  1. I’m interested in what makes a Jewitch ritual different from a non-Jewish-witch ritual. Are there any traditions, blessings, etc that set it apart? What sort of things would let someone observing the ritual know that the person practicing is a Jewitch, as opposed to just a witch?

Every Jewitch is different. We all define our spirituality differently. But to me, I guess if it has many elements of Kabbalah and Jewish symbolism in it, then it is a Jewitch ritual. For instance, when I do a tarot reading, I do a Kabbalistic reading and I do a tree of life spread. Anything tree of life related to me would be a Jewitchy practice. Also, when I do a ritual or spell, I will often combine it with elements of the most recent Jewish holiday that has or will occur… Also anything to do with the Golden Dawn system of magick is very connected to mystical Judaism so that would definitely set them apart. But I would say that if there are Jewish symbols on the altar (Star of David, the hamsa, Passover plate, challah as an offering, etc), that would definitely let people know your character is Jewitch. I also sometimes connect Jewish laws / traditions to my magick if I believe in them and feel they are appropriate (for example, I will fast on Yom Kippur and do a cleansing rite in connection to this etc). I will expand on this answer in my next blog posts.

Until next time, Bright Blessings to you all,

Midnight Jewitch

